car audio: need recomendations for bass

Mirlyn

So far, this is what I found tonight in the store:

12" Pioneer 500w (TSW34C) $32
~or~
10" Pioneer 450w (TSW29C) $29

Kenwood 1000w Amp (KAC8101D) $155
Kenwood 6x8 3-ways (no 2-ways in the store) $43 (x2)
Sealed 12" Q-Logic box ~$50

The only component system they had were Fosgates, and they sounded bad. Not going to rule them out, but I didn't price those. The Kenwood components I was looking at were in Crutchfield....going to go check them out now. :headbang:

MuFu

Mirlyn said:
MuFu said:
If you do go for an XLS-10, you might want to check these application notes out...

http://www.d-s-t.com/main/tech/appxlsc2.htm

c2.gif

From a 300W amp and 14 litre sealed enclosure. Damn it's easy to load a car interior! :eek:

I'm kinda new to this stuff MuFu...tell me what I'm looking at kid. :p I'm going to guess here.....Looks kinda like it rolls off around 2-3K, right?

Yah, the bit you're interested in is about 80-100Hz and below, where your mids will roll-off naturally and the sub takes over. 20Hz is about the lowest the human ear can hear and decent AV subs should be capable of going that low at a decent SPL (sound pressure level) and with little distortion. Music generally contains few frequencies <40Hz but a sub is still useful for filling out the low end and the odd track that contains explicit sub-bass (the 1812 Overture and "sk8ter boi" have shitloads for example, LOL).

That graph is quite extraordinary to look at for me because I am used to home cinema subs which have to load an area many times the size of a car. Readings are usually taken in a large rooms or an anechoic chamber and they aren't capable of producing plots anywhere near as flat and loud as that in the sub bass range. You'd need to spend a ridiculous amount of money to get that kind of performance in a home theatre.