Cooking...A lost art?

Squiggy

ThunderDick
In this Shake'n'Bake, Microwaveable world, I was wondering how many of you actually know how to cook...I'm talking "from scratch" and not just eggs and bacon. I've been cooking since forever. I candied my first ham at 10 and can even make fudge....It really is amazing how many people wouldn't know what to do with a pot roast...Where do you fall in all of this?

BlurOfSerenity

i never unserstood "from scratch".
does that mean no canned items, no soups or artificial flavorings? everythign real and natural? i dont understand.

i do enjoy cooking, when i do it.
i like to make tacos. im a pro at browning ground beef.
i also once made this really kickass turkey tetrazini, that was a lot of fun, and the most complex, involved thing i've made yet.
i'm just 16, and i only got over my fear of ovens and stoves (cos them's hot!) just two or 3 years ago, so i'm pretty much starting out.

Squiggy

ThunderDick
Hmmm...good point ash r..."from scratch" I guess would mean starting with raw (unprepared) food as the main ingredients. I understand using premixxed seasonings,etc...but can you cook a beef roast. or bake homemade bread, or a pizza (including the dough). Can you make a spaghetti sauce from a bunch of fresh tomatoes and seasoning...Things like that...

Ardsgaine

Aarrgh!! Double post... could a sweet and gentle mod please delete that first one for me?

And here's a pic of the butterbeans I'm cooking to go with it. That red thing in the middle is the bone from Jan's birthday ham. :)

Shadowfax

<b>mod cow</b>
Squiggy said:
In this Shake'n'Bake, Microwaveable world, I was wondering how many of you actually know how to cook...I'm talking "from scratch" and not just eggs and bacon. I've been cooking since forever. I candied my first ham at 10 and can even make fudge....It really is amazing how many people wouldn't know what to do with a pot roast...Where do you fall in all of this?