I love my parents.

greenfreak

The older I get, the more I love my parents. And the more I realize what they sacrificed for me and understand their mistakes and decisions in life.

My mother didn't finish high school. Her father died when she was 16 and she helped my Grandmother care for her five siblings. After raising four children of her own, she decided to go back to school. She got her diploma and was attending the same college I did, at the same time. We had some of the same teachers and instead of living up to an older sibling's reputation as a student, I was living up to hers.

My father is an alcoholic. I had no relationship with him as a child. When I was 24, he gave up drinking and came to me to apologize for the affects his drinking had on me. We had an honest discussion and I agreed to try and trust him. Almost 10 years later, he hasn't touched a drop. He and I have a closer relationship than I ever dreamed of as a child. I'm so proud of him, so many alcoholics don't succeed in quitting and having any resemblance of a happy life.

My parents live in a gated community and everyone there calls my dad the Mayor. He knows everyone, talks to everyone and always has a smile on his face. If he can do it, he doesn't hesitate to help anyone with anything if they just ask. My mother if one of those women who you want to be around. She's just as likeable, with a sarcastic edge that always gets me laughing. Whenever I have good news in my life, I can't wait to tell her. She's my biggest fan.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that I'm damn glad I have the parents I do. They're not perfect and neither am I. But I wouldn't trade them for the world.

What are your parents like?