Claim to fame

greenfreak

I was just having a conversation with an ex-coworker and she just had to work in to the conversation that she's related to Adam Sandler somehow. Like a fourth cousin or something. I asked her when the last time was that she saw him. She said she never met him.

She wanted to know why I was laughing at her. I said that name-dropping doesn't hold much weight with me. That I'm sure there are people I know in my daily life who know or are related to famous people but don't name-drop all the time.

Me, my only "claim to fame" was meeting Paul James from a HGTV gardening show (really nice guy). And Eddie Money went to my school. But I never met him, only was told stories about him by my social studies teacher.

So can any of you prove my point, do any of you know or are related to someone famous?

tonksy

I went to school with the drummer from Nirvana, Dave Grohl. I was a freshman he was a senior, he didn't know I was alive and I didn't know him personally - which was odd because I hung around in the same circles.
This next one is a stretch but at least made for an interesting Thanksgiving conversation. My first husband's Grandfather's second wife (who we always had Thanksgiving dinner with) was the first cousin of Abigail Folger, who was killed by Charlie Manson's cronies at Sharon Tate's house.
Name dropping is a funny practice to me. I mean, it's not you that is famous or whatever and it's not like cooties- it don't rub off.

SouthernN'Proud

Southern Discomfort
I went to high school with the bass player in Ricky Skaggs' bluegrass band, Kentucky Thunder.

My mom worked with Billy Greer's wife (bass player/backup vocalist in Streets and Kansas).

I've met dozens of dudes in famous rock bands, and dozens of NASCAR drivers. Not kin to any of them, or at least none that owe me money.

I know Gonz a little bit.

I've seen AE naked.

Recently.

Otherwise, no I can't name drop.

chcr

Too cute for words