I need some computer advice.

Jeslek

Banned
My question is two fold. I can't continue on without a laptop. I'm very dependant on computers wherever I go. Whether it is school, work, or home, I need my email and internet. I'm strongly thinking of getting something in the order of this: http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=31553&item=2728215997

I want to try and stay under C$1,000 (about US$0.15) (ok ok ok :p, about US$700). I have had lots of good experiences with ThinkPads and this looks like a good deal. Any comments?

PIII-850Mhz / 256MB / 32.0GB / DVD-ROM / 15"TFT (max 1600x1200) for C$999.

The second part is about wireless networks. I'm thinking of buying a Netgear 802.11g 54 Mbps wireless PCMCIA card and a Netgear wireless access point. At home and work I can use the access point and then carry my laptop around without having to look for a network plug all the time, and at university I can relax in a lot of the buildings because it is covered by a wireless network. Does anyone have any experience with this stuff? How reliable is wireless networks? Do speeds vary a lot? What happens if you are connected at 54 Mbps but due to signal loss or something it has to drop to 11 Mbps or something? Does it reconnect and connect?

That's a solid lappy. Great screen too. BUT ... IBM cases are subject to cold damage. Just carrying it outside in winter can make the chassis brittle to the point that it'll shatter when you try to open the screen. Let it warm up properly and you'll have little trouble.

And if you ever, ever get 54Mbps on wireless, call Guiness.

Professur said:
That's a solid lappy. Great screen too. BUT ... IBM cases are subject to cold damage. Just carrying it outside in winter can make the chassis brittle to the point that it'll shatter when you try to open the screen. Let it warm up properly and you'll have little trouble.

And if you ever, ever get 54Mbps on wireless, call Guiness.