I'm trying to write some poetry and it's not happening...

Jon

I've never done anything like this before, as I've got more of a scientific mind than a creative one, hehe. I really don't want to make a fool of myself as it's to go in a Valentine's card, so I could do with some constructive feedback if you please. :) Here's my first ever attempt at writing poetry:

I live through my dark existence
only to bask in your beauty
your eyes that shine like sapphires
your smile that lights up my world
I envy the wind that runs through your hair
that touches your lips
I long to touch you; to hold you in my arms
like an angel you touched my heart
in a way that I've never felt before
as I've never known what love is until this day

It's not long, and I'm not sure what kind of replies I'm gonna get, as I was listening to Aphex Twin at the time...

thanks in advance!

Jon :)

no probn. its a great poem jon it really is. it came from the heart and thats the most important. let it flow naturally. ive had problems with poetry too most of mine come out to be essays :eh::blank:

freako104 said:
no probn. its a great poem jon it really is. it came from the heart and thats the most important. let it flow naturally. ive had problems with poetry too most of mine come out to be essays :eh::blank:

Essays?
Were you trying to write them so called "poems" at school?

Trying is the first mistake. Poetry, like all art, cannot be made to happen. Forced art is work. Art should never be work.

Inspiration and first draft is art.

Second and subsequent edits are work... any good writer knows that. Most people don't realise that being a good poet takes work and practice.

It's a good first attempt btw, but steer clear of "oldie worldie" language and antiquated terms, and try not to use the same repeating words in a short piece. It's better for a modern poet to write in modern language.

My edits:

I've lived through the darkness
to bask in your beauty
your eyes like sapphires
your smile