My review of Ubuntu 7.10 "Gutsy Gibbon"

markjs

Banned
Four stars out of five possible

While not easy enough to just jump right into as a Windows replacement, the day has come when it is viable for "non expert" level users.

I have just tried Ubuntu 7.10 "Gutsy Gibbon", and I am pleased to say I think the age of Linux gaining market share is here, or just over the horizon. For ANYONE interested in breaking out of the Micro$oft, monopoly driven market, I suggest you try it!

You see I am a Windows professional, and I deal with idiots all day long and I have to be nice to them or I'd lose my job. Give me a Windows box with a problem and I can fix it, and the one and only time I failed to, it was because the woman was convinced that since I didn't get all the ghosts out of the machine the first time that I was incompetent.

The thing about Linux is, is that I have always wanted to use it for my personal use as a Windows replacement. I have tried it many times over the years and I saw progress, but I never saw the "light at the end of the tunnel" anywhere near as much as I do with Ubuntu 7.10 "Gutsy Gibbon". I decided that at the point where I could use it as a full Windows replacement is the point at which I would start recommending Linux to "true dummies". I could have learned Linux at any point in the past, but I did not want to bother until it was a viable Windows replacement for the common man. You see i have never had that "think different" mentality, nor have I had that anti Windows mentality. Windows 98 was pretty decent for it's era, and XP was Micro$oft'$ crowning achievement. I love XP, and it is a very good OS, and especially for the wealth of idiots that use computers.