feature thought

tommyj27

Not really Banned
i'd better post this quick before i forget about it again. not being a programmer myself, (props to you folks that save me the headache) i don't know how feasible this would be but here goes.
I find that the selection of smilies in the short list is somewhat useless, i only use a handful of them with any regularity. Could the contents of that list be made customizable on a per user basis? that way we could have easy access to our favorites.
:headbang: :faptard: :tardbang: :lfap: :banana2: :retard7: :drink: *pimp* :bong:

AlladinSane

Probably too complex. Why don't we discard some of them. The entire set of monkey smiles per example. I never saw them at use. As it is it's dial-up hell...

Spirit

Kissy Goddess
What an awesome idea! I bet fury can tell by his super duper smilie count program (???) which are the top 15!!

tommy you smartie pants you

AlladinSane

It would probably require a hell of processing in queries. My bet is that it will not come out of paper...

tommyj27

Not really Banned
i don't figure mysql would like that so much, but hey, a dumb question is only the one not asked right?
:retard5:

whoreable

in our personalized thing we should be able to add our own emoticons. that would be fantastical.

Luis G

<i><b>Problemator</b></i>
Staff member
The implementation requires that fury add some fields to the user tables, related to the smilie set, and then some queries to get that properties.

It might not be too tough to implement the thing per se, but depending on the implementation, the queries count would increase at a 1:1 ratio per smilie, unless there's the use of an array, but i'm not very familiar with mySQL and PHP these days.

And of course the tons of code to be able to select that smilies, validate them, what if the user has no custom smilies. And the process of updating each profile directly to the database so it can get a "default set".

tommyj27

Not really Banned
Luis G said: