Life

Gaunt

I'm studying biology as my major, and this question pops up quite a bit: When does a life really begin?

Some people say at fertilization, others say some time between fertilization and birth, and a few think at birth.

What do you think?

***disclaimer: this is not a discussion about abortion***

Jeslek

Banned
Life begins at conception. When the sperm and the egg becomes one. That is the first cell of human life. Even killing that one cell is murder in my eyes.

I'm also wondering about this. For those that say life does not start at conception, but a baby when it is born IS alive, where does life start? If you say a baby just 1 minute before being born is not alive, why can't you get a late minute abortion just 1 minute before birth? Where is the line? Where is the millisecond that a baby turns from a tumorous growth into a living human being?

Gonz

molṑn labé
Staff member
at viability outside the womb. if one cannot live without moms umbilical cord or a machine, it ain't time to call it soup.

whoreable

LastLegionary said:
Life begins at conception. When the sperm and the egg becomes one. That is the first cell of human life. Even killing that one cell is murder in my eyes.

I'm also wondering about this. For those that say life does not start at conception, but a baby when it is born IS alive, where does life start? If you say a baby just 1 minute before being born is not alive, why can't you get a late minute abortion just 1 minute before birth? Where is the line? Where is the millisecond that a baby turns from a tumorous growth into a living human being?

wouldn't think one cell be almost exactly the same as one plant cell????

i think we caught you on this one!!!!! :) :) :)

Jeslek

Banned
whoreable said:
LastLegionary said:

Plants do not have souls. Neither do animals.

Gaunt