Practical suggestions for my house

outside looking in

<b>Registered Member</b>
I thought it would be useful to troll (in a good way) the forums for the centuries of combined knowledge and experience of homeowners for suggestions on "outfitting" (a term I'm used to in engineering) my house.

You know... all that wisdom, like "don't use marble tiles because..." or "use XXXX kind of sinks because..." or "get a refridgerator that isn't..."

That kind of thing. My experience so far is limited to apartments, where are generally outfitted as cheaply as possible, and all I know is that I don't like many of the choices that were made... but there appear to be upteen-billion "better" choices out there.

I'm happy with the floorplans, and have looked at many of the options for tile, carpet, appliances, plumbing, lights, etc. That's all still open, and I'd appreciate any advice or suggestions before I commit to anything. I know what I like (based mostly on looks), but being an engineer I know that there are often practical considerations that should outweigh appearance when making important decisions. Since I have no prior experience in building or owning a home, I'm turning to those that do.

ris

if in a concrete floored place and going for wooden floor then laminate snap-lock stuff is usually pretty nasty - proper floorbards wear better and look much nicer, although the build up of the bats and boards would need to be in mind much earlier.

PT

Off 'Motherfuckin' Topic Elite