Speakers question

dimme

I have one set of speakers, don't know their effect but they sure roar, that's for sure. It's a 3-way system containing one tweeter, one midrange speaker and one 12" bass speaker that goes down to 30Hz. Now since these speakers are old I have thought about upgrading the bass speakers.
I have had my eyes on a 12" speaker with a 7.5 lbs magnet 500W peak and 200W RMS power with 4ohm impedance. It's actually for a car but it can be mounted in home speakers, too right?

Now I don't know what impedance my current bass speakers have, if they are 8ohms, what difference will the 4ohm speaker make? I'm not looking for any hot shot high end bass speaker like cerwin vega or infinity kappa, just a good bass speaker element for some money (stress the some, I'm a student dammit).

Remember I'm a n00b in this. Give me as MUCH info as you can about it :)
I don't want to end up with a ruined speakers in my hands :D

EDIT, the speaker box is pretty big, measured it and it's a 94 litre (3.36 cubic feet I think, NOT SURE) box, yes it's big.

Luis G

<i><b>Problemator</b></i>
Staff member
Welcome to OTC dimme, you might wanna check the perpetual welcome thread :D

Luis G

<i><b>Problemator</b></i>
Staff member
About the impedance question, it is better to match the impedance of all components, otherwise you might be stressing them, or you might be stressing the amp.

Since you're talking about OLD speakers, i'm pretty sure they have a cross-over, does it allows the change of impedance?

dimme

Originally posted by Luis G
About the impedance question, it is better to match the impedance of all components, otherwise you might be stressing them, or you might be stressing the amp.

Since you're talking about OLD speakers, i'm pretty sure they have a cross-over, does it allows the change of impedance?