Any Apple Computer Owners?

I've been limping by on a crappy pc for several years and am finally ready to replace it, and not being a rocketscientist I only want to pay for system stability and reliability that it is user-friendly. I want to be the Alpha in this new relationship, instead of being my computer's bi-atch.

Why do Mac users think their computers are so snugly? I don't think I've ever heard of an owner wanting to toss it off a rooftop, or seen a commercial selling a 12 CD set on how to master the operating system.

These look to be Apple's best options:

http://www.apple.com/powermac/
http://www.apple.com/imac/
http://www.apple.com/emac/

When you look at their top 10 reasons to switch:
http://www.apple.com/switch/whyswitch/
it does make sense, but am I just getting sucked in by crafty advertising or are they for real?

Na and Ku'u swear by theirs. Maybe give one of them a PM...I don't think they come in this forum too much :lloyd:

Two words...Software Compatibility. Check to see how much software works n the Mac vs the PC. All the slick advertising in the world won't change that. ;)

All the MAC software and all the software designed for POSIX architecture :D
A Linux user shouldn't have problems working on Mac OSX.

The Other One said:
Why do Mac users think their computers are so snugly?

Brainwashing?

Seriously, Gato makes an excellent point. Software compatability with a Mac will always be an issue, although I hear the new generation of Windows emulation software is quite good and there is a version of MS Office for Mac. On the other hand, they have a reputation for reliability. What OS are you running now?

My bro-in-law loves some of the newer windows emulators. I chose not to give him a hard time about having to emulate the very OS he's trying soooo hard to avoid, but there you go...

HomeLAN said: