Digital Underwater Photography

Sharky

It's time to replace my aging Nikonos 35mm amphibious with a digital rig. When I started shopping, it was amazing how many options are available.

*smacks forehead*

Why didn't I do this last year? Was all of this stuff available then?

Any tips on what works best?

There are plenty of choices in housings as well as dedicated amphibious cameras on Diver's Discount Supply.

I've never used a housing before, so I'm kinda hinky about them - can you trust them to protect your camera?

I haven't any idea, but if I were you I'd pm Toolbox™ with a link to this thread ;)

Leslie said:
I haven't any idea, but if I were you I'd pm Toolbox™ with a link to this thread ;)

*smacks forehead AGAIN*

ow

He and Shadowfax are divers . . . I completely forgot. D'oh! :lloyd:

(thanks, Leslie) :cool:

anytime :D

and...Toolbox™ also has a professional underwater photographer friend/associate, if I remember correctly.

Kewl! :cool:

I just found Toolbox's thread in the Loony Lounge . . . those photos are awesome! I'm gonna PM him and find out what kind of gear they use.

Hi again everyone. Just for the record, I have never in my life taken an underwater photograph. The only reason to why I have experience with this is because I run a small boat and we charter it out to divers whom, 80% of of the time, are photographers.

Shadowfax's camera is a Sony Cybershot 4.0MP and he doesn't even shoot with full resolution. His underwater housing is extremely reliable because he did over a hundred dives while he was on the boat and I saw his camera right before he left and it was still in perfect condition. I also know that they make really good underwater housing for other Sony Cybershots like mine which is a DSC-F707. Hold on... I'll look for a link.

Here you go: http://www.ikelite.com/web_pages/sony_f717.html