Geologist talks about Hydrocarbons..

MrBishop

...and reality. He's speaking specifically about Canada's situation, but also touches on world oil, coal and natural gas consumption and available stock.

http://media.globalpublicmedia.com/RM/2006/11/Hughes112506audio.mp3

Well, I've been involved in geology all my life. Graduated back in 1972/1975 with an advanced degree. Worked initially in the private sector on energy. And I've been employed by the Geological Survey of Canada for over 30 years. Worked on energy all of that time. I'm a government scientist, but I'm also a public servant. I consider part of my role, basically, as looking at the security of the people that are paying my salary. I do consulting work with private sector energy companies only because of my expertise in Canadian energy resources. Some of those individuals have shared their forecasts of things like Canadian gas supply with me, which has caused me to be very concerned about the long-term energy security and sustainability for the Canadian people that pay my salary. So, that's where I'm coming at it from. I, initially, became concerned about gas 11 years ago. I did an analysis of Canadian gas supplies at that point in time, and saw a time of serious supply shortfalls, which are now playing themselves out at about this time - likely to get worse going forward. Canadian production, essentially, peaked in 2002. It's remained more or less stable since that time, but only through record amounts of drilling. If drilling is cut back for whatever reason - and it looks like it is, because of the slight dip in the price of gas - we can expect some fairly steep declines in Canadian gas supply. Five years ago, I became concerned about the total energy picture, and, at that time, I put together my own analysis based on all the available data of global oil, global gas, North American gas, coal, global coal, North American coal. And peak coal looks like it's occurred in the Lower 48. The U.S. is now an imp