How much to charge?

kuulani

I just translated a brochure into Hawaiian for a National Park in Hawaii, and now I have to make an invoice and decide on how much to charge them per hour for my services.

Does anyone have any idea on how much I should charge? (Seriously now, I have no idea how much is reasonable).

I really have no idea how valuable translation services are. If it's nothing special, $10-$15/hr would seem reasonable. Some things, like law/engineering/psychology time run mor like $50/hr.

:confuse3:

I was thinking $10-$15 too.
Someone told me that I can charge more since I have a master's degree ... but I still don't know what to charge :shrug:

I'm thinking maybe 20-25, but remember I'm in Canada, so I don't know how that translates. Did you try looking at some translator's websites? Maybe some of them have their rates posted, you could get an idea from that. :confuse3:

Okay, I'm leaning towards $30/hr. Thanks for the input!!

*damn my i-don't-wanna-charge-too-much tendencies*

Why can't we go back to the bartering system? I'd be happy with a nice dinner and some beer/wine. :D

Aren't you supposed to tell them the price before you do the work? :confuse3:

Ahh well, $30 an hour is like $47 Canadian. :eek:

lepr-a.gif
lepr-a.gif
lepr-a.gif
lepr-a.gif
lepr-a.gif
lepr-a.gif

Normal translations fee is $ 0.10 per word.

I'm serious about that. I know a few people who do that for a living :)

$.0.10 a word? Lemme see ...

2,103 words x $0.10 = $210.30

Hmm ... I'll make more charging $30/hr ...

$30/hr x 8 hours = $240

:D

How much people do you know speak Hawaiian? Out of that many people, how many people do you know are willing to take time out to translate a brochure? :p

Here's another one, how many people are employed by the National Park Service? Don't they have ONE person out of that many people that could've done it? :p

:D