i need advice on college, degrees, and careers.

BlurOfSerenity

i'm a college dropout, much due to the fact that i have no idea what i want to do with my life and therefore don't know what to major in or even focus on.
i'm getting to the point where i'm wondering if just majoring in something that sounds interesting, but is not necessarily something i'd want to do as a career, is a good idea. i'm thinking this cos at least i'd be a college grad with a degree.
what i'm scared of is that i'll find something i want to do for a career, but will be turned down because my degree is not in that field.
also, if i do this, should i seek a 4 year college or should a 2 year community college be ok? or does it all depend? i've seen job requirements with 4 years of college as one of them, but is that true of most jobs? i feel like i can barely do 2 years, let alone 4.

does anyone have advice on this? good idea? bad idea? etc?

start off in a 2 year college and take a liberal arts program. take a variety of classes and see which ones you like/are good at and go from there. there is the added bonus that the local community colleges are relatively cheap and offer a wide variety of subjects. regardless of your eventual major, you'll have to slog through a few courses that will bore you to tears or be the equivalent of chewing on tin foil, but they must be done.
dont worry about not knowing what you want to do. some people know what they want to do when they are in elementary school. others, like me, dont figure it out till much later in life. (i started nursing school at age 30) it'll come to you.

Gonz said:
Get a haircut & get a job. That'll teach ya to be so picky.

I think you're suppose to be giving that advice to yourself...about 6-7months ago :p

Here's the real deal.

do what EVER it takes right now

to get ANY degree (four year)
(makes it cake to go back and get an Masters later heh)

Firstly it will make you into a better hoo-man bean

and secondly