Linux - Confused! )?

Aunty Em

I've discovered there are several different ones e.g. Redhat, Mandrake, Suse, Psyche.... ad infinitum.

Which one is best for a total beginner who has only ever used a Windows OS?

I'm considering Mandrake 9.0 or Redhat 9.0.

I would suggest Mandrake,I started with Mandrake7.1 and it was very easy to install and configure,I'm sure 9.0 would be similar.I had only been using Win95 at the time ,so you shouldn't have a prob.One thing about Mandrake is it can be a rather large install ,up to a Gig of harddrive space for a minimal install.

Yep, 2nd vote for Mandrake for a beginner. Red Hat after you get the feel of things a little better.

Last time I installed Mandrake, it found and configured everything except my printer by itself during install. If it doesn't install it, at least hope your network card gets installed, then you can download drivers for most other things.

Hmmm. USB might be a problem, but I'm not sure. Luis?, Tommy? Octal? Come on guys, you know more about this than I do.

Drake 9 and RedHat 8 may detect the USB device properly. I personally have never dealt with any type of USB network device in RedHat so I'm unsure of how it works. From dealing with RedHat 8 though, the USB devices I've dealt with work so far.

I don't know of any that are on the same system....all the firewalls I use are stand-alone hardware or separate systems.

Just make sure to consistantly check out any available updates to stay secure. :)

I may install it on my other system and not go online with it untill I've had a chance to become familiar with it first. I'll probably get another HD for it.

I'm hoping to network all my systems before next year through a broadband router anyway.

USB cablemodem, that can be a serious problem, what brand is it?

Linux has a firewall?, sure it does, it is called shorewall in mandrake, but it won't filter outgoing traffic.