Mandrake and Snort

rrfield

I am installing Mandrake 9.1 on a PC so I can run SNORT on it. Has anyone here done this before? Any tips or suggestions?

I'm a network guy and I am a Linux novice (I can go months without doing any actual work on a computer) so any other suggestions would be welcome as well :)

rrfield

I'm not familiar with SNORT, rr, what is it? Note that you'll want it as an RPM if available.

As long as all your peripherals are more or less mainstream, Mandrake pretty much installs itself. I always run the install in manual mode, but I accept all the defaults except for drive partitions. I tell it to put a usr partition in (that's what I'm used to, I don't think the auto-install does it) and than let it allocate the space automatically. I think you'll find Mandrake pretty easy to configure.

chcr said:
I'm not familiar with SNORT, rr, what is it? Note that you'll want it as an RPM if available.

Snort is a free intrusion detection system (IDS) program. It CAN run under windows, but since this is a security device, what would the point of running it under windows be?

The Snort/Mandrake box is a temporary solution for me, after the new year, with new budgets and whatnot, we will be getting a Cisco 4235 IDS. The guys who sit up in the Ivory Tower are paranoid that Osama is going to launch a cyber-attack on a small, rural electric cooperative, so I gets to deploy lots of securty measures, whether they be real or perceived :)

rrfield

rrfield said:
The Snort/Mandrake box is a temporary solution for me, after the new year, with new budgets and whatnot, we will be getting a Cisco 4235 IDS. The guys who sit up in the Ivory Tower are paranoid that Osama is going to launch a cyber-attack on a small, rural electric cooperative, so I gets to deploy lots of securty measures, whether they be real or perceived :)

rrfield
Cool, you gt new stuff to play with. The folks I work for look at what something costs and want me to do it cheaper.