need a router/load balancer

Mirlyn

Got two separate incoming connections that I need to load balance across two webservers. I also need VPN capabilities.

Suggestions?

Mirlyn said:
Got two separate incoming connections that I need to load balance across two webservers. I also need VPN capabilities.

Suggestions?

You'll need a layer 4 router, unfortunately i have no experience managing routers so my recommendation knowledge is close to zero.

tommyj27 said:
i think linux has some load-balancing capabilities, never used it before though :shrug:
After getting some quotes, I think this will be the way to go until we can buy one. :eek:

mirlyn, if these are win2k or 03 servers they are capable of both the features your looking for.

hey mir, if you do go the linux route, let us/me know what you figure out, it sounds like an interesting project.

What kind of internet connections are these? Cable or DSL, T1 or Frame Relay, DS3?

Real routers are expensive, is this for work or for home?

rrfield

Dual Cable/DSL or T1s (undecided) for a new site which will be hosting two webservers with the possibility for adding more.

I have 2k and Serv03, but dont' want to mess with additional licensing for this site.

I'm probably going to do a linux-based router/load balancer. My coworker spent yesterday on the phone with Nortel and F5. After some consideration, we don't think one of these routers is best to start out with, but better to grow into. :)

Never done software VPN before, so that'll be new. ;)

is there a particular reason this new site requires dual servers and connections? if it's for redundancy i would think keeping one machine on hot standby would be preferable putting them both online.

tommyj27 said:
is there a particular reason this new site requires dual servers and connections? if it's for redundancy i would think keeping one machine on hot standby would be preferable putting them both online.