Pitfalls of winter

Leslie

Communistrator
Staff member
Snow and ice are, in fact, slippery.

Zach (11) was trying to surf down a slide on his feet today. In a blizzard. He failed. He did a faceplant and broke the bottom of his one front tooth clean off.

I managed to find after a bit of a panic (I found out I'm not good at emergencies anymore. I lost it...but after a minute I got it together again), a new dentist who does emergencies, (and is within walking distance!!) so that's a bonus...as we hadn't found a regular one here in Barrie as yet.

He did really well, had his first freezing needle and braved his way through it. The mini-dremel freaked him out a bit but he stayed stoic.

Tooth Fairy is coming tonight, I think that'll be worth a good five bucks.

Evening at the dentist, sanding and clear coat - $141.00
Next week at the dentist, clear coat and new veneer - $231.00
Every month for the next 6 months getting X-Rays, $21.00

all for attempted surfing on wet frozen metal.

*sigh*

Kids will be kids.

My daughter had to have a giant staple in the back of her head. I wasn't there for the accident (she was with her step-mom) which involved an high school aged aunt, tickling and a class coffee table (this is all I know) but I still freaked out at the site of metal in my daughters skull.

I hope your little trooper gets to feeling better, and myabe he'll think twice about surfing in the winter time. ;)

i'm always amazed at how stoic kids can be when they are injured. seen kids with forarms that had all sorts of odd angles or hugh lacerations. the majority just deal with it. a small number do loose it, but that doesnt happen often.
cant say the same for a lot of adults.

Next time tell him to lick it first,if it cold enough for his tongue to stick , you won't have to worry aboot him slipping/surfing.

I remember doing things like that as a young pup. still have the scars to remind me.