Red Hat Linux take 2

pc_builder

Ok. This time I'm going to really try to learn linux. I'm typing this on my new linux box right now.

What I did was take RH( off my laptop. I needed the harddrive space. Anyway, I recently got my loner computer back. (MY loner computer, as in I loaned it to friends as I worked on their poor machines.) There wasn't much on it that I was worried about losing. Plus I already have two other windows machines. So I wiped the drive and put only linux on this puppy. It took me about six hours of reading and fiddling. But I finally got my video card working so I could run gnome. This second install, I chose custom and text login initially.

I also installed KDE, but I don't know how to start it. Keep in mind that I'm very new to this. startx automatically started gnome but I can't figure out how to make it let me choose kde.

In your opinions, which is better? Gnome or KDE?

Funniest thing... My network card that I have in this machine to connect to my modem with, didn't work when I had windows installed. But it works just fine in Linux. It's a D-Link DFE-530TX+

I thought it was burned out, but I left it in when I installed linux and it was found, installed, and now I'm just rambling.

So tell me how to start kde instead of gnome or at least have a choice every time I start X.

I was a little too quick to ask my question. I found a neat desktop switching program. I really have to play with this more. However I couldn't install icecast. missing package "curl"

imo kde is better, don't know how to make startx let you choose kde, but i think the command to start kde straight is kdestart.

I fiddled around in the config until i found a thingie that let me choose the shell every time i log on... I use Gnome on my ROOT and KDE on my reglar login.

I found the Desktop swtiching tool. Now I'm using kde. I don't know, but in some ways kde seems to run faster than gnome, except when starting up.