Thy tools

unclehobart

What of your tool collection is stuff you bought vs stuff that was liberated family members and friends and stuff that was inherited from the older generations?

Right now all of my stuff is stuff that I have bought myself. The quality isnt nearly what the stuff from the old days are. Anything with a wood handle is only about as strong as flimsy bamboo. I try to get stuff with composite handles that lie somewhere between fiberglass, vulcanized rubber, hardend plastic, and space age carbon fiber. It makes me wonder why good old fashioned hickory isnt used anymore.

Pliers and screwdrivers always seem to end up missing.

My dad is about to move... which will surely mean a tool windfall for me. I may have trouble storing them all.

Sharky

I have a few tools "passed down" from Dad and my brothers, but most are Snap-on tools that I have been accumulating since 1982 or so. When I was working as a Volvo technician in Atlanta half of my paycheck went to the Snap-on man. I always had a list ready when the truck came around, it was addictive. Their air tools are excellent, and they have all the cool handy specialty tools that you can't find at Sears. And nobody builds a better rolling chest.

Kruz

I think I have more than $20.000 invested in tools and diagnostic equipment.... (Snap-on, Mac, Matco, Cornwall, and so on)

Leslie

Communistrator
Staff member
I have had to start a collection myself. I have a couple really good hammers which came from I dunno where, and a couple screwdriver sets (bought), a corded drill(neglected to tell hubby he'd left it here), a scroll saw(from neighbour, she had a spare), socket set(bought), allan keys(bought) so far. Gettin' there :shrug:

unclehobart

2 of my hammers... my only 2 hammers have taken a walk over the last 6 months and have yet to surface. If I find out who took them :spank2:

Gonz

molṑn labé
Staff member
they're under your roommates dirty clothes...that's where tools always end up.

unclehobart