What hard drives do you swear by these days?

greenfreak

I've always been a Maxtor fan but there isn't much to choose from on NewEgg. I need a couple of drives to replace (2) 250gb SATA 3.0Gb/s Western Digitals that are failing on me just about every six months.

I found this Seagate: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...g=-1&PurchaseMark=&VideoOnlyMark=False&Page=2

But the negative reviews always worry me. I know there's a certain amout of DOA's and problems. And there's only 90 non-excellent reviews and 396 excellent reviews. But I don't want to replace these drives again.

They're going to be standalones, no RAID. Any suggestions?

catocom

Seagate owns Maxtor now.
I've been using Seagate for a couple of years...mostly, simple because of the warranty, and track record.

WD good Now too though.

greenfreak

Seagate owns Maxtor now.
I've been using Seagate for a couple of years...mostly, simple because of the warranty, and track record.

WD good Now too though.

That would explain why the Maxtor name is harder to come by. Now that you mention it, I seem to remember that from a few years ago.

I always heard good things about the WD's but I'm getting tired of replacing these drives.

fury

Administrator
Staff member
I've got one 300 gig Maxtor and a trio of Western Digital Raptors... one 74 gigger and two 150 giggers

They haven't disappointed me yet.

My dad just replaced (well, had me replace) a drive in his store-bought Gateway machine with one of those nifty super-quiet Samsung SpinPoint drives. I'm thinking about buying one of those for my next drive, since the only thing I can hear in my computer now is the hard drives (it's all watercooled)

catocom

I used to use samsung mostly, but the HDs have bitten me more than once,
after it was just out of warranty ...2yrs.

I like the NCQ, and parallel read/writing technology with seagate.

Mirlyn

I use Seagates. 160GB in our webservers, and 500GB/1TBs in our file arrays.