Who wears ties?

tonksy

Who wears ties to work? Do you hate them? How many do you have? What kinds do you like? Do you iron them like regular clothes?

HomeLAN

I have to. I despise them. I own about 25. As I work in banking, stripes are considered to be not conservative enough. I have them dry-cleaned, but not very often.

Professur

I've got .... some. Mostly left over from the hotel days. As a computer tech, we don't wear them. They're dangerous while working around open printers. Tie clips dangling into an open PC isn't a good thing either.

tonksy

HomeLAN said:
I have to. I despise them. I own about 25. As I work in banking, stripes are considered to be not conservative enough. I have them dry-cleaned, but not very often.
Have you tried dryel? I tried that on the ones I showed you and was very pleased. What is it you look for when shopping for them?
I need help lotting up some new ones....when's the next time I'll see you?

SouthernN'Proud

Southern Discomfort
I wear them to court and parole hearings. I don't mind a tie as much as you might imagine I would. I had about 15-20 before the fire, and was given three times that many after. I kept about 12 of the more...contemporary ones. Some of them were in style with beehive hairdos and such.

I like ties with prints on them. My favorite was a black tie with banjos, mandolins, and fiddles on it.

Luis G

<i><b>Problemator</b></i>
Staff member
I don't, actually I wear jeans and tshirt or formal casual clothing.

HomeLAN

tonksy said:
Have you tried dryel? I tried that on the ones I showed you and was very pleased. What is it you look for when shopping for them?
I need help lotting up some new ones....when's the next time I'll see you?

Not sure. I'll run it past the boss and let you know.

As for what I look for - quality. Silk is ideal, pattern must be quite muted for my professsion.

MrBishop

Not too sure about the new job, but for most jobs that I've done...I've had the little nooses around my neck.