Need help with Quantum Physics

StuTheWise

Hello all!

I'm trying to learn a little more about a particular area of quantum physics. Only problem is, I'm not that bright... so if anybody is able to explain this in "layman's" terms, or point me to a site that does, I'd greatly appreciate it.

The theory I'm after is the one that states nothing exists unless it is observed.

Are there any experiements available that will help me understand this better? I read something about a wall with two holes and a light source shining through it, and something about a cat in a box with a radioactive source and a bottle of poison, but the person explaining it had incredibly bad grammar and I could barely understand what he was talking about.

Remember... I'm a layman, so go easy on me ;)

Luis G

<i><b>Problemator</b></i>
Staff member
shit, i wish i still had my chemistry 1 notes, i can't remember much of it.

chcr

Too cute for words
http://www.lassp.cornell.edu/ardlouis/dissipative/Schrcat.html
http://www.emr.hibu.no/lars/eng/cat/

The cat story You're thinking of is Schroedinger's Cat, from a paper by Erwin Schroedinger in 1935. Here are a couple of links. Schroedingers cat is a fair explanation, at least to how I understand quantum mechanics. See if this explanation helps, it's the one I use. Remember, I am not a physicist, but this is my understanding of the situation. First, physics as we observe it daily does not in any way exist on the quantum level (the level governing subatomic particles). Now, you understand that electrons, protons and nuetrons are actually made up of smaller stuff, I assume. Put simply, this stuff all exists in an indetermihnate state until it is observed. Things exist on a quantum level, they just don't have physical properties until those properties are measured. Camelyn's link is a much better explanation, this is just the short version I use in my head. Einstein thought it was so much hooey, but the theory is fairly well accepted now.