Techy Speccies

Raven

Annoying SOB
Can you use a CAT5 twisted pair cable to link two 100Mb NICs? Realtek is the NIC manufacturer if thats any help

Cat5 isn't a twisted pair by definition. You can do it with a crossover cable (or even a standard patch lead if the NICs have dual-mode ports). I think you'll need Cat5e for 100Mbps though.

MuFu.

in english? home networking only here. Never built a LAN so any hints for inreasing speed (general gaming and filesharing only) would be appreciated :)

Or, just buy a cat5e crossover cable. Even Staples has them here in the US. I keep one in my computer repair kit for emergencies. Regular cat5 does support 100Mbps, BTW. It says so in this Network+ book I'm studying, anyway.

chcr said:
Or, just buy a cat5e crossover cable. Even Staples has them here in the US. I keep one in my computer repair kit for emergencies. Regular cat5 does support 100Mbps, BTW. It says so in this Network+ book I'm studying, anyway.

It does, CAT5E is enhanced though, so might provide more stability etc.. ohhh ohh :D

Isn't the cat5e standard for supporting gigabit over copper wire? I don't have the book here and I'm getting ready for the second A+ test this afternoon (well, I would be if I weren't wasting time here), so i'm not going to Google it.

can't remember for sure, but yea i think CAT 6 is just a fancy name for CAT5E :D Which test? Hardware or software? if software i suggest you do a quicky windows 95 and DOS crash browse, they tend to pop some oldies on you but its dead easy.

cheers peeps I was gonna buy a CAT5 from dabs.com but I thought it better to ask. Im up on my tech stuff but dont know jack about networking

Cat5e is recomended for a wiring closet, where Gig over copper may be used. Cat5 is just fine for 100 mbps. Cat6 has more twists per inc than Cat5e, if I recall correctly.