Well, I'm glad that's over... for now!

Aunty Em

I spent most of today finishing my last 3 assignments for my teaching course and handed in my portfolio this evening... actually on time, would you believe? :)

From what my tutor said It sounds as though I've passed the course with flying colours, so I should soon be the proud owner of a teaching certificate which gives me access to teaching in the adult education colleges. She advised me to bypass the second stage as I have a degree and go straight for the Certificate in Further Education which will qualify me as a lecturer, so I'll have to start checking that out for September/October time since enrollment is at the end of this month. :D

congratulations aunty, i'd love to become a teacher someday. that might have to wait a while though. :headbang:

Ah... good question...

Biology, chemistry, environmental science up to degree level and basic IT. But since I haven't seriously taught sciences as yet I will probably look for a position at GCSE level at first. The subjects matter and curriculum are set so it will be easier starting at that level - it's also a shortage subject in both secondary (high school) and adult education.

I can also teach any leisure subject I'm good at and have a reasonable amount of experience in... eg. upgrading or building your own computer and designing and building your own webpage at entry level. Both quite popular subjects over here.

Basically, I have been taught to design and implement a course of teaching based on whatever my subject is, using different teaching methods ie. lecture, discussion, role-play, group work, individual work, practical sessions, demonstrations and assignments, setting homework, etc. that are appropriate to the subject. eg, the course outline, scheme of work and individual lesson plans stating the specific aims and objectives of each, and where it is accredited to ensure that it complies with the requirements set by the internal/external examination board.