how long is your resume?

tommyj27

Not really Banned
i'm in the process of tailoring my resume for a specific position and I was just curious how long everyone else's is. Mine is crammed on to one page, which is how I've always been told a resume should be. But I've also seen multi-page resumes, especially for people in non-profit for some reason.

greenfreak

I was always told the same thing but if it's a technical resume with at least three jobs worth of relevant experience, it's impossible. Mine is two full pages but it's easier to read and eye-friendly.

HomeLAN

Mine just recently moved to two pages, but I've got 17 years of working experience, two degrees, etc. Technical histories also inflate the length, but if you can keep it on one, that's ideal.

tommyj27

Not really Banned
Trying to say everything inside of a page is a living nightmare, required me to employ all manner of document trickery like small margins and fonts. I've tried to offload a lot of specifics into cover letters but then I feel like I'm being under-represented in my resume.

And should a resume be strictly in the third person? First person? my choice? right now it's kind of a combination of the two. :eek:

HomeLAN

tommyj27 said:
And should a resume be strictly in the third person? First person? my choice? right now it's kind of a combination of the two. :eek:

Third person if possible. DO NOT switch back and forth.

MrBishop

After having triaged resumés until my ear bled, I can safely say that 1 page for mostly blue-collar work and two pages for mostly white-collar work is the norm. White collar work descriptives require more space, and the level of education takes up some more room. Dont' squeeze the resumé too much...it makes it illegible. I've seen 4 page resumés that were 90% BS, and one pagers that were good as gold. :D